You are here: Home > Results > UFC 143 Results: Condit Wins Interim Belt, Werdum Back With A Win

Posted on February 5, 2012 by John Petit

UFC 143 Results: Condit Wins Interim Belt, Werdum Back With A Win
UFC 143 took place this past Saturday night at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas, Nevada, and it turned out to be quite a night for the UFC’s annual “Superbowl Card.” In the main event it was Carlos Condit who won the split decision over NIck Diaz to win the Interim Welterweight title by unanimous decision, and earn a shot at the current champion Georges St. Pierre. Condit used an expert game plan to keep Diaz from really getting comfortable and cornering him for exchanges.

The heavyweights went at it in the co main event, and it Fabricio Werdum who pretty much demolished Roy Nelson for 3 straight rounds, and beating Nelson bloody with knees and elbows. It was Werdum’s first fight back in the UFC since he was cut after UFC 90 when he lost to now current champion Junior Dos Santos.

Below are the bonuses for the event
Fighters were awarded $65,000 bonuses.

Fight of the Night:  Roy Nelson vs.  Fabricio Werdum
Knockout of the Night:  Stephen Thompson
Submission of the Night:  Dustin Poirier

UFC 143 Quick Results

Interim Welterweight Championship bout:
Nick Diaz vs.  Carlos Condit
Carlos Condit defeated Nick Diaz via unanimous decision (48–47, 49–46, 49–46) to become the new UFC Interim Welterweight Champion.

Heavyweight bout:
Roy Nelson vs.  Fabricio Werdum
Fabricio Werdum defeated Roy Nelson via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27).

Welterweight bout:
Josh Koscheck vs.  Mike Pierce
Josh Koscheck defeated Mike Pierce via split decision (28–29, 29–28, 29–28).

Bantamweight bout:
Renan Barão vs.  Scott Jorgensen
Renan Barão defeated Scott Jorgensen via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 30–27)

Middleweight bout:
Ed Herman vs.  Clifford Starks
Ed Herman defeated Clifford Starks via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:43 of round 2.

Featherweight bout:
Dustin Poirier vs.  Max Holloway
Dustin Poirier defeats Max Holloway by Submission (Triangle Armbar) at 3:23 of round one.

Bantamweight bout:
Alex Caceres vs.  Edwin Figueroa
Edwin Figueroa defeated Alex Caceres via split decision (28-27, 27-28, 28-27)

Welterweight bout:
Matt Brown vs.  Chris Cope
Matt Brown def. Chris Cope by KO at 1:19, R2

Welterweight bout:
Matthew Riddle vs.  Henry Martinez
Matthew Riddle def Henry Martinez via split decision (28-29, 29-28×2)

Preliminary card (Facebook)
Middleweight bout:
Rafael Natal vs.  Michael Kuiper
Rafael Natal defeated Michael Kuiper via unanimous decision (30–27, 30–27, 29–28)

Welterweight bout:
Dan Stittgen vs.  Stephen Thompson
Stephen Thompson defeated Dan Stittgen via knock out (head kick) at 4:13 of Round 1

Similar Posts: